Dates for 2024 Paper

Paper 1Friday 12 January 2024
Paper 2Monday 26 February 2024
Past papers for the last seven years can be found on this website.

Examiner for Paper 1

A.G.Cook, 5 High Street, Harrow on the Hill, Middlesex HA1 3HP

Examiner for Paper 2

A.H.M Thompson, Coolbawn, 25 Links Drive, Radlett, Hertfordshire WD7 8BD Tel: 01923 578673

An entry form is sent by IAPS by email in September to all Heads who are members of IAPS.  An entry form for 2024 is below and can be downloaded and sent by post or email.  The  charge for entry is £5 per candidate.  All entries for 2024 must reach the Administrator by Thursday 14 December 2023.

Papers and results for 2024 will be posted to schools by first-class post as follows: Paper 1: Friday 29 December 2023; Paper 1 results and Paper 2: Tuesday 13 February 2024; final results, prizes and cards: Thursday 15 March 2024.  All correspondence is addressed to ‘The Head’ of the school.

Download Entry Form for 2024


All immediate enquiries should be addressed to the Administrator:
 Dr G.A.Silverlock, Tarragon, 55  Close Lane, Alsager, Cheshire. ST7 2JS.  01270480217 gerardasilverlock@gmail.com



The prize is open to schools affiliated to IAPS – the Independent Association of Preparatory Schools. Entry forms are sent by IAPS in an email to the Heads of all IAPS schools in September/October each year with the request to encourage the Head of History at the school to select suitable candidates for entry.

Entries for 2024 should reach the Administrator as soon as possible and not later than Thursday 14 December 2023.

In 2023 1,142 candidates sat Paper 1 and the top 247 qualified for Paper 2.

New Participants Information

We would be delighted to invite new participants to join the 72 preparatory schools involved in the prize in 2023.

Optimized-007-Summer-Fields-Prep Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.
Scroll to Top